Hello!

My name is Ashley Bishop Lapierre and I am a Registered Psychologist in Calgary, Alberta. I provide individual and couples counselling to adults. I work with many types of clients from different backgrounds and different concerns but I tend to focus more on women's mental health and couples counselling.

Registered Psychologist Calgary Alberta

My Experience

I have a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Psychology from Cape Breton University and a Master of Science in Counselling Psychology from the University of Calgary. I completed the Post Graduate Counsellor Training Program at the Calgary Counselling Centre. I stay up to date by engaging in frequent professional development trainings and readings.  I have spent most of my career working in a non profit counselling agency where I was able to work with a wide variety of clients and presenting issues. In April 2018, I launched Hopeful Horizons.

Why I became a Psychologist

I developed an interest in Psychology in high school and went on to do my undergraduate degree in Psychology. I became fascinated with learning about human life - why we might think a certain way, act a certain way, feel a certain way. Humans are so complex and interesting!

Then, I realized I could use this information to help people and I went to graduate school to study Counselling Psychology. Once I was able to start providing therapy, I was hooked. It felt right and I knew I wanted to continue so I completed my training and pursued licensing.

I feel privileged to be able to sit with people as they overcome huge hurdles and go on to live their best life. I am often amazed at the strength, resiliency, and courage I see in my clients on a daily basis. I see hope and strength in clients even when they can't see it themselves. I thrive when my clients thrive.

I continue to be fascinated by the subject of Psychology. I treat professional development more like a hobby than an obligation; I am a life-long learner. I am passionate about using Psychology and Counselling to help people through difficult periods. I am committed to increasing the dialogue around mental health struggles and ending stigma.

Outside of Career

I hold many satisfying and fulfilling roles including wife and mother. I was born and raised on Cape Breton Island but have been living in Calgary for almost a decade. I love the mountains but I still miss the ocean so I enjoy visiting the east coast when I can. I have a creative side that I honour through crafts, fashion, and design. I am an animal lover and enjoy being outdoors. My favourite self-care includes scented candles, really long baths, and a good psychology book.